Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Visit The Brewery's sponsor!
Brews & Views Bulletin Board Service * Brews and Views Archive 2006 * Archive through February 27, 2006 * Can Nat. Gas Do IT??? Brinkman jet burner. < Previous Next >

  Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Author Message
 

ELK
Senior Member
Username: Elkski

Post Number: 1463
Registered: 01-2003
Posted From: 67.177.25.240
Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2006 - 04:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Well I decided it was time to try to use the brinkman jet burners I bought for the brew stand. Brew stand is on hold but I mounted one in my camp chief stand and drilled out the orifice.. 0.076" I think I remember that .079" is Bill p's suggested size but wanted to work up to that. I just went out in the dark to compare the flames on the 70k BTU propane to my Nat gas and the propane screams compared to the Nat Gas. My guess would be 25% of the BTU's maybe 40% tops. My other 30K BTU propane just wont do for 10 Gal boils (12.5 gals). I cant wait all day to boil.
So can a Natural gas burner do the trick..I did use a 12' BBQ grill hose and had a small ball valve on the orifice.
What burners should I get that will give me 70K BTUs. Other than this 12' hose my Gas line was sized for 150k BTU.. It is 1 1/2" plastic line about 120' from the meter.

(Message edited by elkski on February 15, 2006)
 

JimTanguay
Advanced Member
Username: Pizzaman

Post Number: 537
Registered: 02-2003
Posted From: 206.63.252.209
Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2006 - 05:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

you took off the regulator right? I use a 170k jet burner converted to NG and I can heat 10 gallons 45 degree water to 170 in about 25-30 minutes
 

ELK
Senior Member
Username: Elkski

Post Number: 1465
Registered: 01-2003
Posted From: 67.177.25.240
Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2006 - 12:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

yes I only have the hose and a valve and the burner.
 

Marlon Lang
Advanced Member
Username: Marlonlang

Post Number: 555
Registered: 03-2003
Posted From: 68.155.87.8
Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2006 - 02:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

FWIW,
Methane has about 1000 BTU/cu-ft, and propane is up around 3000 BTU/cu-ft. (Please, no Chem-Es with exact UHV or LHV) So, you will need to burn more methane that propane, by volume, to get the same heat. In theory, you will need to drill out the propane orifice to a size that has 3 times the area (not 3 times the diameter) or wait longer.
 

Hophead
Senior Member
Username: Hophead

Post Number: 2048
Registered: 03-2002
Posted From: 167.4.1.39
Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2006 - 02:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

You can swap out the propane orifice for a nat gas one too (easier) at home depot/lowes/etc...

i would kill for nat gas at home... well, maybe just maim...
 

robert rulmyr
Advanced Member
Username: Wacobob

Post Number: 727
Registered: 02-2003
Posted From: 72.48.80.233
Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2006 - 12:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I drilled out the orifice on my 3 jet burners. Pretty easy. I don't know the brand name, but they originated from pico-brewing in Ypsilanati Michigan. The company specs. said they were 200BTU burners with propane, 100BTU with NG. My heatingis a bit slower than Jim T's. Still, gas is good.
 

Bill Pierce
Moderator
Username: Billpierce

Post Number: 4700
Registered: 01-2002
Posted From: 24.57.229.8
Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2006 - 12:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

My performance with a 170 KBtu Metal Fusion burner is similar to Jim's. I removed the regulator, drilled out the orifice to 7/64 in. and plumbed it directly to the natural gas line.
 

ELK
Senior Member
Username: Elkski

Post Number: 1468
Registered: 01-2003
Posted From: 67.177.25.240
Posted on Friday, February 17, 2006 - 12:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

7/64ths is .109" I might try that in the dark tonight.
 

ELK
Senior Member
Username: Elkski

Post Number: 1489
Registered: 01-2003
Posted From: 67.177.25.240
Posted on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 - 03:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Just drilled .110" hole and it is much better looking.. We will see how it boils my 12.5 gals.
 

Richard Nye
Senior Member
Username: Yeasty_boy

Post Number: 1266
Registered: 01-2004
Posted From: 65.218.192.240
Posted on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 - 03:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

ELK - what are you using as a hose from your meter to your burner? I want to go natural gas, but my rigs about 35' from my meter and I don't want to hard plumb it. Give me some specifics, please.
 

ELK
Senior Member
Username: Elkski

Post Number: 1490
Registered: 01-2003
Posted From: 67.177.25.240
Posted on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 - 04:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Sometime ago I found a 12' hose at Hd or lowes or online it comes with a Qc on one end the same as comes on New Nat gas grills and the other end was a flare. The hose is about 5/8" od. It was about 35 bucks.
This looks like it.

http://www.cunninghamgas.com/store.php?crn=290&rn=922&action=show_detail
 

JimTanguay
Advanced Member
Username: Pizzaman

Post Number: 541
Registered: 02-2003
Posted From: 24.18.213.14
Posted on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 - 06:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hey Richard, I had to move my system away from the house abut 35 feet one summer when I had someone scraping and painting the back of my house. I went to Lowes and got a hose for an air compressor and rigged that up to supply my NG.
 

Paul Edwards
Advanced Member
Username: Pedwards

Post Number: 951
Registered: 03-2003
Posted From: 70.236.29.211
Posted on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 - 06:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Be real careful about hooking up your brew rig to your NG supply with a hose that doesn't meet code.

I have a friend that had a non-code rubber hose hook-up to his brew rig discovered by the gas company. They shut off his supply, locked down his gas meter, and made him disassemble his brewery before they'd turn the gas back on to his house.

He was only able to start brewing again when he had a licensed pipefitter come in and run pipe that met code. Then and only then could he re-assemble brewery. He had to have it insspected by the gas company before he could fire it up.

My indoor NG brewery was installed to meet code from the get-go.
 

ELK
Senior Member
Username: Elkski

Post Number: 1493
Registered: 01-2003
Posted From: 67.177.25.240
Posted on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 - 08:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

This brinkman jet burner was just barely able to do the job at 30 degree amb. It seemd to get up to boil ok maybe an hour total but after shuting it down for the first 10 min to prevent a boil over I ran it wide open the rest of the time and the boil was nothing to violent. I might shorten my hose? and will check to see if I have the high flow Qc's or not. And might drill the hole out bigger.