Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Visit The Brewery's sponsor!
Brews & Views Bulletin Board Service * Brews and Views Archive 2004 * Archive through July 12, 2004 * Promash, Virtual PC and X-11 on a Mac < Previous Next >

  Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Author Message
 

Cody Taylor
New Member
Username: Humdum

Post Number: 6
Registered: 08-2003
Posted on Saturday, June 26, 2004 - 06:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have a Blue & White Mac G3 300 and I'm running OS X Panther (10.3.4). My last computer was a Mac Clone w/ a G3 400. I was running Promash inside Virtual PC on OS 9.1 on that old box. Since I switched to the B&W G3, Virtual PC won't run on it because my version of VPC requires at least a G3 400Mhz processor. I have installed X-11 and am preparing to install OpenOffice (I'm just one step away from a Microsoft-free home). I just read that OpenOffice will run on OS X using X-11 or XFree86. Does anyone know if I can run Promash inside X-11?
 

Zymie
Junior Member
Username: Zymie

Post Number: 41
Registered: 10-2001
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 12:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I think your Mac needs to be Red & White, not Blue & White to be able to run Promash.
 

Jared Cook
Intermediate Member
Username: Jared

Post Number: 305
Registered: 09-2002
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 01:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I doubt you will be able to get it working under X11. You can get it working under Linux's X11 with WINE, but that is only for x86 processors, (I'm sure the same could be said for x86 FreeBSD) Since your Mac has a PowerPC proc, I think you're out of luck unless you can get Virtual PC running.
 

grainbill
New Member
Username: Grainbill

Post Number: 4
Registered: 04-2004
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 06:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Wine has always been 'not ready for prime time' software. It would be best if Pro Mash was ported.

*hic*
 

Fredrik
Member
Username: Fredrik

Post Number: 1356
Registered: 03-2003
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 07:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

> Wine has always been 'not ready for prime time'

The last time I tried wine was probably 10 years ago, and basically the only thing I could get running for more than a minute back then was like the calculator, notepad and other trivial applications. Is it still that bad? man it's been 9 years, hasn't something happened or perhaps the linux community has given up the idea of a windows emulator?

/Fredrik
 

Jared Cook
Intermediate Member
Username: Jared

Post Number: 307
Registered: 09-2002
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 07:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

It's gotten a lot better, and variations like Crossover Office and Wine-X allow you to run things like MS Office and recent games, but there's always going to be bugs. The only versions of WINE that seem to work very well are the commercial variants. But yes, Fredrik, I think the Linux community has largely given up on the idea because there are so many desktop apps written for Unix type systems these days. There's becomming less of a use for WINE. Except for ProMash :-)

Now an X11 (GTK+, Qt) version would be nice because it would be portable to MacOSX, Linux, and most other Unix systems. It would just have to be compiled for the target platform.

I doubt there is enough demand to make it worth the developer's time.
 

Brandon Dachel
Senior Member
Username: Brandon

Post Number: 1084
Registered: 03-2002
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 08:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

> man it's been 9 years, hasn't something happened
> or perhaps the linux community has given up the
> idea of a windows emulator?

[W]ine [I]s [N]ot an [E]mulator.

Personally, I've not played with it yet.

> (I'm just one step away from a Microsoft-free
> home).

Well, good for you. Personally, I don't really enjoy jumping through hoops to get common tasks to run on my computer (promash, case in point). But I'm sure the benevolent Steve Jobs will appreciate your money more than the so-called anti-christ, Bill Gates. :-)
 

Captain Morgan
New Member
Username: Captnmorgan

Post Number: 59
Registered: 01-2004
Posted on Monday, June 28, 2004 - 01:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I run Gentoo Linux with XFCE and promash works quite well, I use winex don't know which version. Never had a crash just runs a bit slow.
 

David Beckerdite
Member
Username: Darkislandfan

Post Number: 186
Registered: 04-2003
Posted on Monday, June 28, 2004 - 02:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are both anti-christs.

I have a G-4 Power mac and I don't have the add ons to run promash yet. But the fact is there are several programs that run on mac that don't run on MS Pc's as there are several programs that run on MS Pc's that don't run on mac's. That's how they get us to buy all that damned software.
 

Vance Barnes
Advanced Member
Username: Vancebarnes

Post Number: 765
Registered: 03-2003
Posted on Monday, June 28, 2004 - 03:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Other than the goal to be MS free, wouldn't it be easier and cheaper to buy a used PC (or find one for free) just for ProMash?
 

Cody Taylor
New Member
Username: Humdum

Post Number: 7
Registered: 08-2003
Posted on Monday, June 28, 2004 - 04:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

"Other than the goal to be MS free, wouldn't it be easier and cheaper to buy a used PC (or find one for free) just for ProMash?"

I've thought of doing just that with a used PC, Red Hat Linux and Wine. It would be alot easier to just run Windows and Promash, but I kind of enjoy the challenge for Linux and Wine. If I get frustrated enough I may break down and buy a used PC.
 

Adam W
Intermediate Member
Username: Adam_w

Post Number: 269
Registered: 03-2003
Posted on Monday, June 28, 2004 - 04:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I disagree Zymie....

I think the contrasting colors is the problem. Try spray painting it one solid color (I recommend Rustoleum semi-gloss white for ProMash) and see if that clears up the problem.
 

Brett Elliott
New Member
Username: Brette

Post Number: 15
Registered: 04-2003
Posted on Wednesday, July 07, 2004 - 02:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Speaking of wine...

Being on a mac running Darwin, I think you want Darwine:
http://darwine.opendarwin.org/

I don't think it's ready for prime time yet, and you'd probably need the source for Pro Mash to get it go, so that you could compile it with winelib (or whatever the Darwine equivalent is). Perhaps we could get the promash folks to compile it with winelib for us, making their product acessible to more people. I shall go forth and try to make it happen.

Brett
 

MacGregor Outkast
New Member
Username: Macgregor

Post Number: 14
Registered: 03-2003
Posted on Wednesday, July 07, 2004 - 04:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Promash 1.8 works great WITHOUT modification under WINE on linux (redhat 7, 8) & freebsd 4.1

it also runs equally well under a VNC installation on any platform.
 

Brett Elliott
New Member
Username: Brette

Post Number: 16
Registered: 04-2003
Posted on Wednesday, July 07, 2004 - 05:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

MacGregor,

However, we're talking about running it on a mac, which uses a PowerPC processor. You're talking about using on an x86 processor based machine. The ProMash code would need to be recompiled on a PPC machine (or cross compiled from an x86 targeting a PPC) to work using Darwine on a PPC machine, as x86s and PPCs use different instruction sets.

Brett