Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Visit The Brewery's sponsor!
Brews & Views Bulletin Board Service * Brews and Views Archive 2003 * April 1, 2003 * Just starting out, have a couple questions < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Jim Johnson (68.32.10.68)
Posted on Wednesday, March 12, 2003 - 02:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Howdy fellas,

my name's jim and i'm just starting out with brewing my own beer most likely this weekend if all goes well.
I've never done this before and I was hoping you guys could help me get started out with information on ingrediants.

My first and biggest question is on the yeast. Do you need to use special yeast for putting on top of the wort to start fermentation? Or can you just use the yeast you'd find at a grocery store. If not, what kind of yeast do you need?
Can i send my punk kids to get it for me or will they not let them? haha

My second question is about brewing drinks such as Mikes Hard Lemonade style drinks. Is there a special yeast for this kind of drink? And would u guys basically suggest using concentrated juicec cans for flavoring it?

Thanks a lot

Bill Pierce (12.249.104.53)
Posted on Wednesday, March 12, 2003 - 03:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

You would be far better off using beer yeast, which is available from many homebrew shops and suppliers. For a beginner I would recommend a dry ale strain, which only needs to be rehydrated for about 15 minutes in 95-100 F water, rather than liquid yeast.