Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Visit The Brewery's sponsor!
Brews & Views Bulletin Board Service * Brews and Views Archive 2003 * October 5, 2003 * Competitions in North Carolina < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Jason (66.208.134.226)
Posted on Tuesday, September 16, 2003 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

hello everyone. I am very new to homebrewing. I was wondering if anyone could point me to a list of competitions here in North Carolina or southern Virginia. I was wanting to go see whats out there and figured that would be a good place to start.

Michael (69.132.108.184)
Posted on Tuesday, September 16, 2003 - 01:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Jason, in the S. central part of the state (Charlotte area), Carolina Brewmasters puts on a large comp. every year. Here is a link to the "US Open." I believe it was/is held in April.

http://hbd.org/cbm/usopen/index.html

Also, if you follow the link to their home page, there are other events and comps. listed, as well. Raleigh/Durham and Asheville have active HB communities. I know one of the members of MALT in Asheville snagged HB of the year a couple of years ago @ the NHC. Here is another link of some other clubs in the state. It is not complete (no Raleigh clubs?), but a start for some other local comps.

http://www.beertown.org/homebrewing/listings.asp

I see in your profile, you are from Winston. I've only found two "part-time" HB shops up there. One is part of a Health Food store, the other a part of City Beverage (which has an excellent beer selection). Where ya' getting your stuff?