Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Visit The Brewery's sponsor!
Brews & Views Bulletin Board Service * Brews and Views Archive 2004 * January 9, 2004 * Is the hop seed on ebay fit for use in brewing? < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Kevin Davis (67.233.12.236)
Posted on Thursday, December 18, 2003 - 01:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

There is a hop seed on ebay that I was wanting to know if it is worth trying to raise, but I was unfamilar with the name, however I am new to brewing so I do not know scientific names vs common names. Has anyone seen this and is it usable? Also I have seen some hops growing wild near my house (in KY) would this be worth gathering to use and what might it be? Please remember I am totally new to brewing, so I feel no question is a stupid question. Thanks.
Kevin

Bill Pierce (24.141.63.119)
Posted on Thursday, December 18, 2003 - 01:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hops grow best from rhizomes (basically a tuberous root). These are available from homebrew suppliers in the early spring. They can be planted when the frost is out of the ground, likely about April 1 in your location.

The hops that are found wild are most likely Clusters, which accounted for 98 percent of the US hop crop until very recently. These are adequate for bittering but do not have a particularly pleasant aroma for use as late additions.

With homegrown hops it's very difficult to know the alpha acid levels, which makes them problematic when trying to calculate bittering for your beer.

danno (63.224.226.20)
Posted on Thursday, December 18, 2003 - 02:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)