Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Visit The Brewery's sponsor!
Brews & Views Bulletin Board Service * Brews and Views Archive 2008 * Archive through August 26, 2008 * Low original gravity < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Chris oneill
Username: Johannas123

Post Number: 1
Posted From: 161.150.2.57
Posted on Monday, August 11, 2008 - 06:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

obviously there are many things to go wrong while making beer and i am new to this BB but i just started brewing a few weeks back and the first batch which was a kit worked perfect (nut brown) and after this early success i was super happy. moving on from there we talked to the guy at the local brew shop and he gave us a recipe of his own for an amber ale. well from the start the OG was quite a bit lower than what we wanted and i was wonder what this could be attributed to.

Dan Listermann
Username: Listermann

Post Number: 5743
Posted From: 65.29.223.32
Posted on Monday, August 11, 2008 - 06:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

If you did a partial boil, there is a very good chance that the wort was stratified and the hydrometer read low.

What were the ingredients to the kit. Five gallons, right?

Vance Barnes
Username: Vancebarnes

Post Number: 3334
Posted From: 74.7.7.66
Posted on Monday, August 11, 2008 - 06:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

If you didn't boil the entire volume then Dan's got the ticket. Even if you think you completely mixed the wort and water the temperature differences cause stratification.